The Harmony of Japanese Budo

I’ve recently noticed and thought more about the harmony that is a part of Japanese culture. An example of this is when listening in Japanese, native speakers make various sounds to indicate that they are listening. Quite different from native speakers of English who usually keep silent while listening.

Another example in Japanese is the roundabout way of expressing thoughts and feelings that might affect the harmony of a relationship. Most Japanese won’t say “No” directly, but instead answer with a “chotto…” or even agree with what you say, even when they don’t actually agree. One that I have found myself using is “Wakatta” or “I understand”. All of this is to promote a harmonious relationship.

I still lack a deep understanding of this as I often don’t know what to say and/or when to say it while conversing with Japanese friends or coworkers. Even finding the right timing at the store with when to receive my change and when to take the bag handles that are often put into your hand can be a difficult undertaking.When I am impatient I find myself resorting back to my own culture and stop trying to cross the cultural bridge. In my opinion I don’t need to, and should not give up my own culture. But at the same time I do think that a lot can be learned by miming the actions that I see, and exploring the reasons behind them.

I believe that this deep desire for harmony is inherent in Japanese budo as well. From the very start of class, the timing of a bow should be in harmony with your partners and teacher. Conversely the breaking of this timing is important for martial purposes. If you always meet the attack, then the stronger more rooted attack will win. But if you can arrive before the attack sets in, then you have a better chance of being the victor.

This entry was posted in Budo in Japan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment