The importance of weapons training

In my short time practicing Japanese arts, I have come to appreciate the importance of weapons training in relation to both preparing for various scenarios and for helping to deepen my understanding of the “empty hands” portion of Motoha Yoshin Ryu Jujutsu. While still quite new to this budo I have come to appreciate the fact that while it appears simple and also similar to other arts that I have trained, it has a depth and hidden quality to it. While I say hidden, it is only hidden in the fact that I was unable to see what was actually going on in the movements and/or think past my own thoughts on what the movements represented. I greatly appreciate that there are so many helpful people in this art, willing to teach and guide students to a correct understanding of principles and structure. There are many selfless teachers in this art that have been willing to give their time and knowledge to me and I am grateful for all their guidance!

The recent addition of using a bukuto/bokken and a hanbo to illustrate the importance of structure, footwork, body connection/linking, angles/lines, harmony, grips(or lack of), and many other points which I’m sure I’m missing have really opened up my mind and left me with many points to consider in my training. Of course I’m still struggling with one of the most basic yet important points, which is good structure. Looking at good structure, and hearing the explanation can make it seem so simple, yet it’s so difficult! (At least for me) Luckily the use of weapons helps me to do a self-check on my own structure. Ideally I would love to live and train martial arts every day with a good teacher, but life tends to get in the way.

Hence the use of a bokken or wooden katana for self practice and self check on my structure. If I have correct movement and structure then the practice of raising and lowering my sword will use much less effort than if I am structurally wrong. When my structure is not correct, then my lower back will take extra strain and I will be able to feel the difference. I should use a smooth movement up and down, focusing on correct movement and not power to attain a smooth cut. As was pointed out to me by my teacher, a katana is usually very sharp and has a curved blade which performs the cut without needing added force. Added force is unnecessary and can cause the blade to turn and cut at an angle instead of straight and perhaps even cause the blade to crack or break. That would be terrible not only due to the cost of a nice katana, but even more so in a life or death situation.

These few points are just the tip of the iceberg. I’m perfectly happy to say that I have yet a lot to learn about budo!

Some types of wooden katana (bokken):

bokken_samples

This entry was posted in Budo in Japan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment