Training Traditional Martial Arts in Japan

When I first thought about coming to Japan, I had the same fantasy as many other people: that Japan is still set in Samurai times. After my first visit, my image of Japan changed greatly. Japan is quite set in the modern age, though they often do a good job of co-existing with nature (even with unwanted bicycles thrown into rivers as trash!).

I had the mistaken impression that martial arts masters would be everywhere and that training would be easy to find. I was quite shocked to discover that there are probably more martial arts schools in a typical American city than in most areas in Japan. I definitely had to do some searching to find training in Japan. The schools I found do not have very many students when compared to many martial arts schools in America.

Still, I have been very happy to find a genuine master in Yonago, Tottori, Japan. His name is Akiyoshi Yasumoto and he is 80 years old. He teaches Motoha Yoshin Ryu Jujutsu. His training in Kobudo (traditional Japanese samurai arts) took place in Nishinomiya, Hyogo, Japan. Nishinomiya sits between Osaka and Kyoto and was the place to be back in 1959 when many famous masters were teaching Jujutsu, Aikido, Judo, Kendo, and many other martial arts styles in that area.

I have also been fortunate enough to have a friend who teaches Ninjutsu, and also trains in a few other traditional martial arts of Japan in the Kyoto area. During my search I was able to participate in various training in the Yonago area such as Brazilian Jiujitsu and Judo. I have also seen Iaido classes, various Karate classes, Kendo classes, and Kung Fu classes here in Japan. While it may seem difficult at first, I think that it is entirely possible to find traditional martial arts training in modern Japan. Just don’t expect everyone to be wearing kimonos wherever you go!

20130325-111307.jpg

This entry was posted in Budo in Japan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment